Picture of the Morgantown Public Library

Morgantown Public Library System


Branches:

373 Spruce St.
Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone: (304) 291-7425
Home Page

What's New

Library Catalog

eBooks

Databases

Programs

Interlibrary Loan

Policies

Useful Links

Children

Reader's Corner

Search

Reference

Local Jobs

News

WV Info

FAQ

Branches/
Contact Us


Friends of the Library

Donations

Location
 

Databases for Morgantown Public Library Users

A to Z the USA

AtoZ the USA is the most comprehensive US state and territory resource available on the educational market today. AtoZ the USA comprises 56 US state and territory guides of 146 topics each. USA country data covers 104 categories. An authoritative reference, AtoZ the USA combines detailed articles with tens of thousands of images.
(To access: type 6152 in the Library Card text box)


A to Z World Travel

AtoZ World Travel is the world's most comprehensive city-by-city resource for international business travel. AtoZ World Travel consists of 202 World City Travel Guides of 52 topics each and 56 World Travel Resources. No other single resource covers so many topics, so well, for so many cities.
(To access: type 61520 in the Library Card text box)


Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool that gives researchers a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. The collections in Ancestry Library Edition are continuously expanding and deliver hundreds of millions of names from sources such as federal and U.S. censuses; birth, death, and marriage records including the Social Security Death Index; and U.S. border crossing and trans-ocean ship records.
(Must be in the library to access)


Chilton Library

ChiltonLibrary.com represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle.
(To access: Type "reference" (without the quotes) as the password)


EBSCOhost

A collection of magazine, newspaper and journal databases, that covers a wide variety of subjects such as business, education, health and popular interest. Many of the online articles users can retrieve are full text.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


Freegal Music

Freegal offers access to about 3 million songs, including Sony Music's catalog of legendary artists. The collection is comprised of music from over 10,000 labels with music that originates in over 60 countries. No software to download and no digital rights management (DRM) restrictions. Access to Freegal is limited to patrons of subscribing libraries.
(Type in your full library card number to access)


Gale Legal Forms

Gale LegalForms provides convenient, authoritative means for understanding common legal procedures through access to "attorney forms." Our officially-approved, professionally-written documents are actually used in legal practices! These documents are very different from those found in "form books" – generic, do-it-yourself materials that may not have been drafted by an attorney.
(To access: Type "reference" (without the quotes) as the password)


Global Road Warrior

Global Road Warrior offers world-class e-content, including more than 8 million words of editorial, over 6,500 color photos and 1,575 country maps, all presented in a consistent 92-category framework for each country.
(To access: type 6152 in the Library Card text box)


Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Online multimedia encyclopedia Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia is a very complete and easy-to-use reference tool that's perfect for elementary school to junior high students who require basic explanations.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


HeritageQuest Online

Developed specifically for library patrons, Heritage Quest Online offers an intuitive, easy-to-use interface and clear, crisp census images. Searching is simple and offers a lot of options, although it lacks the ability to use wildcards or soundex to search for misspelled names. Available census indexes are highly accurate - much more so than commonly used AIS indexes.
(Must be in the library to access)


Job & Career Accelerator

Job & Career Accelerator combines everything you need for a successful job search into one easy-to-use online application. With this innovative job-hunting system, you can explore over 1,000 different occupations, match your interests and skills with the career that's best for you, search over five million job postings, create professional resumes and cover letters, and practice and master interviewing skills.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


Learning Express Library 3

Individual Learning Centers provide easy one-stop access to related tests, courses, eBooks, and center-specific content. Practice tests provide an authentic experience by following timing, scoring, and Q&A format of official exams.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


Novelist Plus

Information on over 260,000 fiction and readable nonfiction titles included, plus feature content including lists of award-winning books, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, Recommended Reads and more, NoveList Plus is a complete readers' resource.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


OneClickdigital

OneClickdigital has the largest collection of digital audiobooks. Library patrons have access to thousands of multi-access, high-quality audio titles with faster content transfers. All titles are compatible with all popular listening devices including the iPod. There's even an iPhone app available with Droid and Windows 7 apps coming soon!
(1st time users must register with library card)


Reference USA

Reference USA provides access to 2 databases updated monthly: US Businesses containing profiles for 14 million businesses; and US White Pages which includes listings from telephone directory white pages that are enhanced with information and features including maps with driving directions and neighborhood data.
(Enter your entire library card number)


Small Business Resource Center

Gale Small Business Resource Center is acomprehensive database offering content that covers all major areas of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax and more.
(To access: Type "reference" (without the quotes) as the password)


WV Info Depot

WVInfoDepot hosts a collection of online databases for use by all West Virginia residents. The databases are selected to provide current, reliable information on a variety of topics of interest to information explorers of all ages. WVInfoDepot.org is a program of the West Virginia Library Commission provided with funds form the State Legislature and the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
(1st time users must register at library for access)


Zinio for Libraries

The world's largest newstand offers full color digital magazines. Browse from the library's collection of popular titles with no holds, no checkout periods, and no limit to the number of magazines you can download.
(1st time users must register with library card, then create an account.)


Morgantown Public Library ©